9729

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE ELK GROVE UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT, JANUARY 26, 2015

The meeting was called to order by Ms. Singh-Allen at 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room at the Education Center.

Members Present: Bobbie Singh-Allen, President; Carmine Forcina, Clerk; Beth Albiani, Chet Madison, Crystal Martinez-Alire, and Anthony "Tony" Perez

Others Present: The list of visitors who signed in is on file.

- 1. Board Member Interview Process Orientation Ms. Singh-Allen reviewed the process that will be used to fill the Board member vacancy in Trustee Area 6. Noted were the Education Code requirements for filling a vacancy on the Board which include the term of the person appointed which will be until the end of November 2016 after which the seat will be up for election, and that it is a "provisional" appointment that can be revoked if there is a valid petition calling for an election filed. Each candidate will be provided fifteen minutes to interview. The interview is to include an opening statement, 5 questions and a closing statement. After the interviews, one hour has been scheduled for public comments after which the Board members will begin the deliberations and the selection of a Board member for Trustee Area 6.
- 2. Interview of Applicants for Area 6 Trustee The Board interviewed the following applicants for the Trustee Area 6:
 - George Brown, Jr. Lance K. Fang Marlon E. Jill Munir Khan Nichole Munoz-Murillo Jacob L. Rambo Nayyar Sarfaraz Sophia Scherman Greg Stinson Todd B. Watson Nancy Chaires Espinoza LaWanna Montgomery
- **3. Public Comment on Items on the Agenda** The following spoke in support of the candidates listed during the time permitted for three people to speak in their support:

<u>Candidate</u>	Persons Speaking in Support of Candidate
George Brown	Andrea Turnage, Tony Bruno, and Tyron Netters
Lance Fang	Fong Cha, Henry Chang, and Vaming Xiong
Munir Khan	Anna Spaulding, Amara Munir, and Mehluh Munir
Nichole Munoz-Murillo	Jeanice Warden, Karen Winslow, and Carrie Dennis
Jake Rambo	Bob Levin, Angee Wangsgard, and Rick Lewkowitz

9730

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE ELK GROVE UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT, JANUARY 26, 2015

3. Public Comment on Items on the Agenda (Continued)

<u>Candidate</u>	Persons Speaking in Support of Candidate
Sophia Scherman	Sally Guttridge, Robert Gluck, and Russ Croco
Todd Watson	Ron Eggert, Shelly Clark, and Mark Bearo
Nancy Chaires Espinoza	Kevin Spease, Goldy Shergill, and John Shook

Speaking during the one-minute time permitted for additional public input were the following people in support of the candidate listed:

Speaker	Candidate Supporting
Sultan Malimood	Munir Khan
Sandra Kane	Munir Khan
Thomas Gonzales	Munir Khan
Bari Munir	Munir Khan
Muhammad Akhtar	Munir Khan
Kelsie Soto	Munir Khan
Jerry Torricer	Munir Khan
Gary Palmer	Sophia Scherman
Olga Batey	Nancy Chaires
Julio Cesar A. Gonzalez	Nancy Chaires
Kirtland Stout	Sophia Scherman
Andres Ramos	Nichole Munoz-Murillo/Nancy Chaires
Osvaldo Valadez	Munir Khan
Katie Meyer	Nichole Munoz-Murillo
Michaela Hodge	Munir Khan
Kendra Thao	Lance Fang
Omar Elkhayat	Munir Khan
Mizeille Avina	Nancy Chaires
Chao Yang	Munir Khan
Rizwan Ahmad	Munir Khan
Karen Winslow	Nichole Munoz-Murillo
Tarig Allen Bruno	George Brown
Tyrone Netters	George Brown
Jessica Brown	George Brown
Khondken Alam	Munir Khan

Ms. Singh-Allen thanked presenters for providing valuable input.

4. Deliberations and Selection

Board Member Identification of Their Top 3 Applicants

Each Board member identified their top three applicants. A tally of the top three applicants identified by each Board Member resulted in the following being identified as the Board's top three applicants:

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE ELK GROVE UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT, JANUARY 26, 2015

Jake Rambo – 5 Nancy Chaires Espinoza – 4 Nichole Munoz-Murillo – 4

Motion No. 108, 2014-15 - Motion by Mr. Madison and seconded by Dr. Crystal Martinez-Alire that Jake Rambo be provisionally appointed as Board member from Trustee Area 6. Roll Call Vote: Ayes – Madison and Martinez-Alire; Noes – Albiani, Forcina, Perez and Singh-Allen

Board Identification of Their Top 2 Applicants

After discussion, Each Board member identified their top two applicants. A tally of the applicants identified resulted in the following being identified as the Board's top two applicants:

Jacob Rambo – 4 Nichole Munoz-Murillo – 4

Motion No. 109, 2014-15 - Motion by Mr. Forcina and seconded by Mr. Perez that Nancy Chaires Espinoza be provisionally appointed as Board member from Trustee Area 6. Roll Call Vote: Ayes – Forcina, Perez, and Singh-Allen. Noes - Albiani, Madison, and Martinez-Alire.

Motion No. 110, 2014-15 - Motion by Ms. Albiani and seconded by Dr. Martinez-Alire that Nichole Munoz-Murillo be provisionally appointed as Board member from Trustee Area 6. After discussion, Ms. Albiani withdrew her motion.

Motion No. 111, 2014-15 - Motion by Mr. Perez and seconded by Dr. Martinez-Alire that Nichole Munoz-Murillo be provisionally appointed as Board member from Trustee Area 6. Roll Call Vote: Ayes – Martinez-Alire and Perez. Noes – Albiani, Forcina, Madison, and Singh-Allen.

Motion No. 112, 2014-15 - Motion by Mr. Madison and seconded by Ms. Singh-Allen that Jake Rambo be provisionally appointed as Board member from Trustee Area 6. Roll Call Vote: Ayes – Madison, Martinez-Alire and Singh-Allen. Noes – Albiani, Forcina and Perez.

Motion No. 113, 2014-15 -Motion by Mr. Forcina and seconded by Mr. Perez that Nancy Chaires Espinoza be provisionally appointed as Board member from Trustee Area 6. Roll Call Vote: Ayes – Albiani, Forcina, Madison, Martinez-Alire Perez, and Singh-Allen. Noes – None.

Candidates were thanked for their interest in serving as Board member from Trustee Area 6.

Within ten days of this provisional appointment, notices of the vacancy and the provisional appointment must be posted in at least three public places and published in the local newspaper notifying the voters of the appointment which shall become effective immediately and continue

9732

MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE ELK GROVE UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT, JANUARY 26, 2015

unless a petition calling for a special election pursuant to the Education Code is filed in the Office of the County Superintendent of Schools within thirty days of the provisional appointment.

Oath of Office

Ms. Singh-Allen administered the Oath of Office to Nancy Chaires Espinoza.

Adjournment – 9:45 P.M.

Submitted by: Christopher R. Hoffman., Superintendent

Approve by: ____

Carmine Forcina, Clerk