skip to main content

Federal and State Assessments

Federally Mandated Testing


State Mandated Testing

CAASPP is California’s statewide testing program which consists of the following assessments:

SBAC (Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium) Assessments

The Smarter Balanced Assessments in English language arts/literacy (ELA) and math are administered in grades 3-8 and 11 to measure what students know and are able to do. These computer adaptive assessments include a variety of item types including, but not limited to: multiple choice, constructed response, technology enabled/enhanced items, and performance tasks. In grade 11, results can be used as an indicator of college readiness.

CAST (California Science Test)

The computer-based California Science Test (CAST) measures students’ understanding of the California Next Generation Science Standards (NGSS). The test is administered in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school. 

CAA (California Alternate Assessments)

The computer-based California Alternate Assessment (CAA) for ELA and math is administered to students with severe cognitive disabilities in grades 3-8 and 11. Test items are aligned with state standards and are based on the Core Content Connectors. The CAA for Science is administered in grades 5 and 8 and once in high school. 
Pursuant to California Education Code 60615, parents may annually submit to the school a written request to excuse their child from any or all of the CAASPP assessments.

Smarter Balance Logo

Starting Smarter Website

The California Department of Education (CDE) has launched the Starting Smarter website. It has resources for parents to help understand test scores better, in addition to resources to help students improve their vocabulary and prepare for tests. The entire site is also available in Spanish.

Understanding Your Child’s Score Report

Students receive an overall scale score along with one of the following four achievement levels: Standard Not Met, Standard Nearly Met, Standard Met, and Standard Exceeded. EGUSD parents/guardians of students who took a CAASPP assessment can expect their student’s score report by the end of August. 
Synergy ParentVue logo

Accessing State Score Reports on Synergy’s ParentVUE

Electronic score reports for CAASPP and ELPAC are now available in ParentVUE. We’ve created the below Quick Reference Guide to walk you through how to access and view the reports.

We encourage families to contact their child’s principal and teachers if they have any questions about test results.

English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC)

The ELPAC is aligned with the 2012 California English Language Development Standards. It is comprised of two separate English Language Proficiency (ELP) assessments: one for the initial identification of students as English learners (ELs), and a second for the annual summative assessment to identify students’ English Language Proficiency level and to measure their progress in learning English.  Within 30 days of enrollment in a California school, a student who speaks a primary language other than English, and has not taken the CELDT or ELPAC before, and has not been classified before as an English learner will be given the Initial ELPAC Assessment, based on answers provided on the Home Language Survey. The Initial Assessment is used to identify students as either an English learner who needs support to learn English, or as proficient in English. The ELPAC is comprised of four domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing.
Looking for videos about each of the assessments? Please visit the ELPAC website to access “About” web pages for each of the assessments.

Physical Fitness Test (PFT)

The Physical Fitness Test (PFT) is administered to students in grades 5, 7, and 9 and assesses five fitness areas: Aerobic Capacity, Abdominal Strength & Endurance, Trunk Extensor Strength & Flexibility, Upper Body Strength & Endurance, and Flexibility. Students will be provided with their raw scores by their school site. 

California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE)

The California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE) provides an opportunity for eligible persons to demonstrate their proficiency in the basic requirements and earn the legal equivalent of a California high school diploma. The fee-based CHSPE consists of two sections, English Language Arts (ELA) and Mathematics, and is given three times each year at approximately 75 sites throughout the state. Current enrollment in high school is not a requirement; however, at the time the test is taken, the registrant must be either: (1) sixteen years of age; or (2) have completed one year of enrollment in grade ten; or (3) will have completed one year of enrollment in grade ten at the end of the semester during which the next exam is administered. Those who pass both sections of the CHSPE are awarded a Certificate of Proficiency, which is equivalent by law to a California high school diploma. However, the Certificate of Proficiency is not equivalent to completing all course work required for graduation from high school. For general information, including registration information, call (866) 342-4773 or visit

Testing Results

Below are the web links to the mandated state assessment results for the district. Mandated assessments include:
  • The California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress (CAASPP), administered to students in grades 5, 8 and once in high school in Science.
  • The English Language Proficiency Assessments for California (ELPAC), administered to English language learners in grades K-12
  • The Physical Fitness Test (PFT), administered in grades 5, 7, and 9
Once you’re on the CDE website, enter Elk Grove and then select the year. You can then choose which reports you would like to view.

California School Dashboard
The California School Dashboard features easy-to-read reports on multiple measures of school success, including test scores, graduation rates, English learner progress and suspension rates.

Resource Links